T minus 40-something

Thomas Hysselinckx
3 min readDec 10, 2021

This is part four of an eighteen-part-diary-like series. I decided to develop a new habit and not only write every day, but also publish, until Christmas.

Only six weeks left in my thirties. I know that because I’ve set up a goal to be the fittest I’ve ever been by my fortieth birthday. So every week, I fill in some parameters and KPI’s:

How I track my weekly progress

As you can see, “fit” doesn’t only mean “less heavy”. Today is also the 10-week-mark of not drinking, and thus not smoking. Are the two related? For me, yes, absolutely.

If you say: I quit smoking, people cheer.
If you say: I quit drinking, people look at you like… “but why?”

The truth is: I feel so much better without alcohol. No more hangovers, no more “o no what did I say yesterday”, no more guilty feelings etc. Some of you will understand me.

It was kind of challenging at first. Not the drinking part, but the explaining part. And also, when at a party or dinner: by 11pm or 12pm most people get tipsy or drunk and the conversations become less (to put it friendly) interesting. That’s my sign: “I’m leaving, see you tomorrow!”

But maybe the most important reason for me to quit drinking, is: I’m building a startup, I can’t afford to have a few off days per week. I have to be at my best, be sharp, every day.

--

--

Thomas Hysselinckx

Problem solver and entrepreneur, building https://cashplannr.com. Generalist, interested in many different topics. Skier, runner, weight lifter.